This is a Journey into Om Nom Nom


Here we go
April 27, 2009, 9:18 pm
Filed under: Sunday Food | Tags: , , , , , ,

Spaghetti Vongole & Onion Soup

So this was my first attempt at not only making french onion soup but it was my first time making soup. So I thought I’d start off with something a little simple.

  • Onions
  • Bunch of coriander (I love using coriander)
  • Garlic gloves
  • White wine
  • Bay leaf
  • Chicken stock
  • Black pepper
  • Red chilli flakes
  • Clams

Vongole

Chop onions into small cubes, chop garlic up, chop coriander up. Fry the onions and garlic in a medium-low heat. Add some of the white wine. Should take 5 – 10 minutes. Next add the clams and the rest of the white wine cover until all the clams are cooked. De-shell all the clams and remove any clams that aren’t opening. Add the coriander and black pepper and red chili flakes to taste and simmer for a few minutes.

I’m pretty particular about how I cook my spaghetti. Boil water in salted water. Once spaghetti is done drain the spaghetti in a strainer. Next flush all the hot water out by rinisng the spaghetti under cold water. I added ice cubes to make sure the spaghetti was uber cold. Next make sure all the water has been strained from the spaghetti and add it back to the pot. Add a bit of olive oil to the spaghetti and mix.

Once the vongole sauce is done, turn off the heat. Now add the spaghetti TO the sauce, and not the sauce to the spaghetti. Mix thoroughly and serve.

Onion Soup

Chop up 2 onions into long thing slices. Heat a pot with some butter in it on high heat and when the butter has properly melted turn to medium-low, add onions and cook until caramalised. Next add chicken stock and bring to a boil. Add bay leafs, pepper to taste and reduce to a simmer I also added about half a cup of white wine. Let is simmer for about 30 to 45 minutes to really get the juices flowing.

Overall I thought the pasta was a little too oily. I added too much olive oil after draining the pasta and flushing with cold water. In the future less oil. The french onion soup was also a little on the salty side as I used straight chicken stock instead of a wee-bit-o chicken stock and more water.


5 Comments so far
Leave a comment

do you cook for helie too???

Comment by sha

Thanks for teaching me how to cook.

Comment by Kirsteen

LOOKS LIKE POISON.

Comment by denise

The pasta is not very aesthetically pleasing.

Comment by sammie aka masterchef

Pretty damn impressed by your cooking skills!

Comment by Alieeeson von Megatron




Leave a comment